Kagawaran ng Turismo



PST: October/07/2022 

Places and Events


MANILA, Philippines - The Department of Tourism (DOT) acknowledged noteworthy recipients of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Tourism Standards Awards in simple rites recently held at the Diamond Hotel in Manila.

A prior recognition ceremony during the ASEAN Tourism Forum in Chiang Mai, Thailand on January 22-26, was attended by awardees from other ASEAN member states, also nominated by their own respective national tourism offices.

In an effort to establish the ASEAN as a Quality Single Destination, the ten member states set the ASEAN Tourism Standards to serve as guidelines for tourism service providers to ensure that they are performing according to international standards.

In accordance with the criteria and requirements provided in the ASEAN Tourism Standards Handbook, 11 hotels from around the country successfully met the criteria for the Green Hotel category, which focuses on sustainability.

Meanwhile, 11 hotels were also given the ASEAN Meetings, Incentives, Conventions and Events (MICE) Venue Award.

Following the recent launch of the MICE Roadmap 2030, DOT further reinforces its goals and mandate to let the country be known across the globe as a preferred venue for businesses and events.

Three cities were given the ASEAN Clean Tourist City award, namely: Davao City, Pasig City and San Carlos City in Negros Occidental for maintaining beautiful, environment-friendly, and properly maintained spaces.

The complete list of awardees can be found at: DepartmentofTourism.

In her keynote address, DOT Undersecretary Alma Rita Jimenez commended the ever improving services of Philippine hotels, acclaiming them as assets in the country's growing economy. "Our tourism partners like you are the backbone that make quality visitor experience tangible," she said.

The ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Award was also given to tour packages for both urban and rural category, namely "Walk on the Wild Side" and "Palina Greenbelt River Cruise Experience Along the Landscape of Three Coastal Ecosystems Operated by a Fisherfolk Organization", operated by small and medium enterprises in cooperation with local government units (LGUs), effectively showcasing natural landscapes in their respective area.

Sec. Wanda Teo Director Danilo B. Intong provides an overview of the processes of evaluation for the ASEAN Tourism Standards Awards.


Sec. Wanda Teo Undersecretary Alma Rita Jimenez underscores infrastructure development and intangible factors that contribute to the destinations' branding and excellent quality of services.


Sec. Wanda TeoAwardees include green hotels, MICE venues, clean cities and sustainable tourism models.


visit our website now